The 1929 Club

History of the Cheekwood Mansion

What is The 1929 Club?

The 1929 Club was established initially to generate support for the historic 1930s refurnishing of the Cheekwood Mansion. The 1929 Club now provides essential funding for the endowment of the Mansion and its seven historic acres to ensure its long-term care and maintenance.

What does it mean to be a 1929 Club member?

As a 1929 Club donor, you will receive exclusive benefits associated with Cheekwood’s historic refurnishing, including:

  • Access to special programs and events for 1929 Club members, including private lectures by renowned historians, singular dining experiences and behind-the-scenes tours.
  • Unique travel opportunities to historic destinations with Cheekwood staff leading trips in the United States and internationally.
  • And more

You will also know that your vital support is helping ensure the long-term care of the historic Cheekwood Mansion. Please join the 1929 Club today to support Cheekwood, Nashville’s Own National Treasure.

Founding 1929 Club Members

Andrea Waitt Carlton Family Foundation
The Bovender Family
Mr. & Mrs. William F. Andrews, Jr.

Nancy & John Abbott
Janet & Jim Ayers
Ms. Christine C. Barggren
Mr. & Mrs. Peter F. Bird, Jr.
Mr. & Mrs. Stephen E. Blackmon, Jr.
Mr. & Mrs. Richard M. Bracken
Mrs. James C. Bradford, Jr.
Mr. & Mrs. John H. Bryan III
Elena & Barney Byrd
James H. Cheek III & Nicky Weaver
The Family of Leslie Cheek, Jr.
Joan Cheek
Will T. Cheek, Jr.
Leslie Christodoulopoulos
Colleen Conway-Welch*
Nancy Bass Cooke
Katie & Kevin Crumbo
Jana and Ansel Davis
Mr. & Mrs. William T. DeLay
Betty & Marty Dickens
Mr. & Mrs. Charles A. Elcan
Glenda & David R. Emery
The Honorable* & Mrs. Frank F. Drowota III
Mr. & Mrs. William H. Freeman
Dr. & Mrs. Thomas F. Frist, Jr.
Mr. & Mrs. Thomas F. Frist III
Mr. & Mrs. William R. Frist
Mr. Homer B. Gibbs, Jr.
Bernice & Joel C. Gordon
Mrs. Kate R. W. Grayken
Connie & Carl Haley
Governor & Mrs. William E. Haslam
Tricia & William Hastings

Ms. Carlene Lebous & Mr. Harris Haston
Nancy Peterson Hearn
Mr. & Mrs. Eric T. Helman
Dr. Norm Scarborough & Ms. Kimberly Hewell
Mr. & Mrs. Henry W. Hooker*
Mr. & Mrs. James V. Hunt, Sr.
Martha Rivers Ingram
Mr. & Mrs. Clay T. Jackson
Donna & Mike Kestner
Dr. & Mrs. Howard S. Kirshner
Mr. & Mrs. Randolph M. LaGasse
Ed D. Lanquist Jr.
Mr. & Mrs. Fred W. Lazenby
Mr. & Mrs. Lawrence M. Lipman
Jane & Don MacLeod
Lisa & David Manning
Ellen Harrison Martin
Mr. & Mrs. Kerry McCluggage
Mr. & Mrs. Robert Shepherd Patterson
Mr. & Mrs. Gustavus A. Puryear IV
Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth L. Roberts
Kathy & Bob Rolfe
Anne & Joe Russell
Dr. Kerri L. Cavanaugh & Dr. Michael J. Schlosser
Sheila & Nelson Shields
Joanne & Gary Slaughter
Mr. & Mrs. Stephen C. Small
Mr. & Mrs. Brian Smallwood
Mr.* & Mrs. Howard L. Stringer
Mr. & Mrs. Bruce D. Sullivan
Mr. & Mrs. James F. Turner, Jr.
Mr. William J. Tyne, Jr.
Ruth R. Warner
Mr.* & Mrs. James A. Webb III
Barby & Govan White
Mr. & Mrs. W. Ridley Wills II
Mr. & Mrs. Darryl Yochem

As of 6/17/20


For more information on The 1929 Club, please contact Sarah Sperling at (615) 353-6994 or

Back to Top