Leadership & Board of Trustees

Senior Team

Jane O. MacLeod: President/CEO
Penny Bruckse: Vice President of Human Resources
Peter Grimaldi: Vice President of Gardens & Facilities
Nathalie Lavine: Vice President of Education & Outreach
Daniel Miller: Chief Financial Officer
Elizabeth A. Murdock: Chief Operating Officer
Elizabeth Epley Sheets: Chief External Relations Officer
James W. Tottis: Vice President of Museum Affairs

2021 Board Officers

Lisa Manning, Chairman

Lisa Manning is a cardiovascular nurse by education. She has served on non-profit boards and volunteered in some capacity for many organizations in Nashville. She was devoted to Parents Council of Nashville for many years and served as President. Lisa is an avid gardener, whose gardens have been archived in the Smithsonian Institution. Her focus on organic gardening, sustainable agriculture, propagating and preserving native plants has taken her to many venues and third world countries to share her passion. She is involved in several garden clubs and participates in the Horticulture Judging program for Garden Club of America. Lisa has volunteered at Cheekwood Estate & Gardens in some capacity since graduate school. Lisa proudly serves as a board member of the White House Historical Association, and is also committed to board service for the Legion Fund, serving the 5th Special Forces Group Green Berets and their families.

Barry Stowe, Vice Chairman

A native Nashvillian, Barry Stowe spent his career in insurance and asset management, primarily in New York City and Hong Kong. Between 2006 and 2018 he was a member of the Board of Directors and the Group Executive Committee of Prudential plc. He has served as Chairman and CEO of Jackson Holdings Ltd, a subsidiary of Prudential plc, and as Chief Executive of Prudential Corporation Asia. From 1995 to 2006 he held senior executive roles at American International Group. He is currently a member of the Board of Directors of Zurich Insurance Group Ltd. and acts as a senior advisor to Prudential plc. Barry is co-chair of the Retirement Income Institute in Washington, D.C. and a member of the Tennessee Business Leadership Council. He previously served on the Boards of the American Council of Life Insurance, the International Insurance Society and on the World Economic Forum Committee on Financial Services in Emerging Economies. He is past Chairman of the Board of Save the Children (Asia), and was a Trustee of The Harpeth Hall School and The Hong Kong International School. Barry is a graduate of Lipscomb University and was honored as Alumnus of the Year in 2009. He and his wife, Sherri have three daughters, and together served three terms as Chairs of the Parents Council at The University of the South at Sewanee.

Charles Robert Bone, Secretary

Charles Robert Bone, President and CEO of Bone McAllester Norton, concentrates his law practice in the areas of economic development, mergers and acquisitions, corporate governance and advising emerging businesses, entrepreneurs, officers and directors and governmental entities, including serving as general counsel for the Convention Center Authority of the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County. He has also represented clients in various complex litigation matters in both state and federal courts across Tennessee. Charles Robert is known for providing his clients with good judgment, strategic counsel and practical advice. In addition to his law practice, Charles Robert has been instrumental in developing several Tennessee-based companies as an entrepreneur, investor and board member, including as a founder of Phoenix Boats (Winchester, Tennessee), the Southern Steak & Oyster restaurant and Acme Feed & Seed. He also serves as a partner in and on the investment committee for the Tennessee Angel Fund, a statewide co-investment fund and on the local board of directors for ServisFirst Bank.

Russell Bates, Treasurer

Russell W. Bates is a native Nashvillian who graduated from Lipscomb University in 1986. He joined Deloitte & Touche in 1986 and now serves as an Audit Partner there. In addition to Cheekwood, Russell has served on the boards of the Nashville Symphony, where he was Treasurer and Director, and the Lipscomb College of Business Board of Visitors.

2021 Board of Trustees

Nancy Abbott, Elizabeth N. Akers, Russell W. Bates* (Treasurer), Rob Beckham*, Charles Robert Bone* (Secretary), Martin Brown, Jr., Andrew W. Byrd, Brenda J. Corbin, Katie Crumbo, Pete DeLay*, Mary Taylor Gallagher*, Alberto R. Gonzales, Kate R. W. Grayken, Carl T. Haley, Jr.*, Randall R. Harness, William Hastings, James V. Hunt*, Shaun Inman, Edith C. Johnson, Mike Johnson, Carol A. Kirshner, Lisa Kranc, Robert Lipman, Lisa Z. Manning* (Chair), Rita P. Mitchell, Sherri Neal, Tree Paine, Dee Patel, Sam Patel, Deborah K. Pitts, Ronald Roberts, Michael J. Spalding, Barry Stowe* (Vice Chair), Josh Trusley, Barbara Turner*, Barbara S. White*, Betsy Wills*, Linde Wilson

*Executive Committee Member

Representatives to the Board

Elizabeth H. Foss (Antiques & Garden Show)
L. Owen Kelly (ECON)
Carla K. Nelson (Horticultural Society of Middle Tennessee)
Betsy Brittain (Swan Ball)

Board Intern

Kara Wilhite

Trustees Emeriti

William F. Andrews, Jr., Grace Awh, Clare C. Armistead, Barbara T. Bovender*, Lillian R. Bradford, Joan Cheek, Barbara T. Freeman, Cathy Jackson, Gigi Lazenby, Ellen H. Martin, Robert A. McCabe, Jr., Anne L. Russell, George B. Stadler, Paul Sternberg, Jr., Dudley White

Business Council

Richard M. Bracken, Bill Carpenter, Mark Cate, James H. Cheek III, Sandy Cochran, Marty G. Dickens (Co-Chair), Betsy Hindman, Damon Hininger, Joelle J. Phillips (Co-Chair), Colin V. Reed, Bob Rolfe, Michael Shmerling

Cheekwood Alumni Council

Vandana Abramson, Stephen E. Blackmon, Barbara Burns (Chair), Barney D. Byrd, Andre L. Churchwell, Ann G. Coleman, Ronald L. Corbin, Katherine H. DeLay, Josephine D. Doubleday, Jeffrey B. Eskind, Joel C. Gordon, Julie S. Gordon, William F. Hagerty, Lydia A. Howarth, Gordon E. Inman, William P. Johnston, Mary Evelyn Jones, Heloise Werthan Kuhn, Jennie T. McCabe, Donald I. N. McKenzie, Michael Shane Neal, David I. Obolensky, Hal N. Pennington, Deborah K. Pitts, Keith B. Pitts, W. Brian Reames, Anne W. Shepherd, Beverly Small, Elise S. Small, Irvin L. Small, Bennett Tarleton, Emily P. Zerfoss

Back to Top